Ellana Edible Sugar Lip Scrub

I like to think that I am fairly well-versed when it comes to facial exfoliation. In my stash, you will find several kinds of face scrubs as well as acid exfoliators that I try to remember to use on a weekly basis. However, this is actually the first time I’ve tried a lip exfoliating product, and Ellana Edible Sugar Lip Scrub in Watermelon Mint (PHP399) is guiding the way.

Ellana Watermelon Mint Lip Scrub

Quick Specs: made in the Philippines

This is the part where I usually talk about packaging, but I just saw that Ellana has since changed their lip scrub pot into something more premium-looking:

*Photo from the Ellana Minerals website

So let’s skip right to the experience! The Ellana lip scrub can be used as a general exfoliator for lip maintenance, a pre-lipstick pout-smoother, or a lipstick remover. The sugar granules are suspended on a moistening base that prevents the granules from dissolving into a sticky, syrupy mess in the jar. The base also doesn’t feel greasy.

I find the size of the granules to be just right that not a lot will accidentally get in the mouth (if you don’t necessarily want to test its edibility). Of course, the level of exfoliation you get is manual, so it all depends on how much pressure you use while massaging the product on. With slightly chapped lips, gentleness is key as the scrub is quite abrasive even with mild pressure. (But of course, don’t use it on severely chapped lips that tend to bleed!) As a matte lipstick remover, I find the Ellana sugar scrub to be much more effective than if I had used petroleum jelly/lip balm to wipe the stuff off. Afterwards, I did not notice Ellana leaving any stain on my lips.

As a regular lip scrub: During -> After

Used as a matte lipstick remover: Before, during, and after use; on your left is Ellana sugar scrub in action, while on your right is regular lip balm used to remove MAC Bespoken For lip liner and MAC Instigator lipstick

Watermelon Mint scent is very subtle. I’m getting more of the mint, but not in an ointment kind of way. And the watermelon scent part is juice-like rather than getting a whiff of artificial candy scent. As for taste, I could only detect sugar and a slightly oily taste that I will attribute to its base. You won’t be (super) tempted to eat it, but you won’t be repulsed by any weird flavors either.

 

Verdict: The Ellana Edible Lip Scrub is a useful buy for those who prefer a more pleasant lip exfoliation experience vs. the old-school toothbrush method. Fans of stubborn-to-remove matte lipsticks will also appreciate how it gets into the nooks and crannies to take off the leftover lippie. I think that it will keep pretty well, since I’ve had it for months without seeing any dissolved sugar.

Leave a comment