Going The Way of Kohl

With the sheer number of makeup brands housed in our leading department stores, we don’t really need to go so far and wide to find the product/s we need. Admittedly, it takes a bit of the fun out of hunting for the next must-have item, but the convenience is unbeatable. Personally, I don’t mind shopping around until I find the brand or product that will truly capture my attention. (Hey, it’s part of the process.) My latest re-discovery of a non-department store brand just so happens to be Avon.

You may be thinking, “What the…?! Who still uses Avon?” As it turns out, I do. Don’t knock it ’till you’ve tried it. The way I see it, all the brands in the world (high-end, low-end, or mid-range) and all their existing product lines are easily broken down to ingredients and their benefits. If it’s a dupe for a premium product that also happens to be affordable, then I am all for it!

Today, I’m going to do a review on Avon Kohl Liner in Brown as part of my Avon review series.

Ingredients

This eyeliner is new on the Avon brochures, what with it being at an intro price of PHP129 and all. Regular price is PHP199, by the way. It’s packaging is in the old crayon-style of kohl liners, meaning the amount you see is also the amount you get without needing to sharpen or twist the tube. That’s 1g of product for you, a reasonable amount for the price.

For those new to kohl, all you have to do is apply it like you would your regular liner. This type of liner is slightly creamier than the average pencil-type, so that smudging for softer definition is a possibility.

Pre-Smudge

Post-Smudge

I love no-sharpen eyeliners because I hate the little shavings that are inevitably produced by pencil-types. My biggest complaint about this is that you have to take extra care in removing the clear plastic lid from the pencil lest you accidentally break or deform the soft content. Applying it is fairly easy as it glides on smoothly. You just have to keep it slanted at an angle, so as to maintain the pointed shape of the kohl. Then you can smudge away.

The color is a rich, dark bronze. It may look shimmery on the packaging and in the brochure, but that doesn’t really make it onto the lashline. The staying power was pretty good when I wore it the whole day, with gradual—yet minimal—fading that partly depends on how neatly you smudge it.

Needless to say, a steady hand is a requirement for some precision smudging. If you are like me, pasmado (having shaky hands), then a smudger, soft brush, or Q-tip is most definitely recommended.

I’d give it:

4.5/5 – Good value for money at PHP129, but deduction for the inconvenience of needing to very carefully remove the cap each time the kohl is used.