Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Color Clay Mask

Currently, my biggest beauty undertaking of 2018 is joining the #ABMidyearStashChallenge on Instagram. The prospect of sorting through my collection and categorizing/documenting what I have is helpful in maintaining my beauty low-buy pledge, since I’m being met with the sheer amount I still have to use up. It’s also also caused me to dig through the beauty products that I’ve nearly forgotten about. Now I’m in the mood to line them up for review, starting with the Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Color Clay Mask in Vitalizing (estimated PHP 400 / USD 9).

Quick Specs: 70 ml ; made in Korea ; 4-free formula

Ingredients

If you aren’t previously familiar with the Innisfree Jeju Mask line, it is interesting to note that there are 7 variants/colors in total that correspond to a different skin concern, namely: Yellow (brightening), blue (hydrating), pink (vitalizing), green (cica), purple (calming), white (refining), and black (purifying). The common thread is the sebum-controlling jeju volcanic cluster. Those variants are further broken down into 3 main textures. As per the Innisfree website:

Water gel clay : Yellow, blue, pink
Cream clay : Green, purple
Transforming clay : White, black

I had ZERO knowledge of the texture differences prior to using this clay mask, but I was already aware that there were various colors/properties. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Vitalizing variant wasn’t too thick or heavy at all. I’ve previously tried the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay, and it did feel like a powerful option for absorbing facial impurities. However, it’s purity (just water or apple cider vinegar combined with clay) also felt almost painfully tight, making me nervous about over-drying my dry combination skin. But for the Innisfree mask, the water gel base and lighter consistency allowed me to slather on enough product to appropriately cover the skin without getting too much of the tightness-causing kaolin and bentonite content.

The dusty peach-pink clay mask looks like calamine lotion.

As the Vitalizing Color Clay Mask dries, it does tighten but only a little bit. Nothing too uncomfortable. There is a mild nutty-woody scent from the mask that doesn’t linger. Post-wash there is a slight tightness to my skin as can be expected with any clay mask I use, but no dry patches. Following up with a serum and mild moisturizer afterwards is enough to sufficiently rehydrate my face.

The packaging is a basic squeeze tube that is on the soft side, putting it at risk of easily squirting the mask out if accidentally squashed. On the other hand, the mouth of the tube dispenses just the right amount of product, and that same softness makes it easier to press every last bit out.

Verdict: Recommended use is 1-2 times a week at 5-10 minutes each time. I’ll probably stick to a once-week-routine (if I can remember it!) to avoid over-drying. I do think this is a fuss-free clay mask that takes the guess work out of the process, since it is pre-mixed and already made lighter and more usable for dry skin. I appreciate that Innisfree was able to make the clay masking experience more inclusive to numerous skin types, and I would like to try the Blue/Hydrating variant next.

Leave a comment