Shiseido Perfecting Stick Concealer

I think I’ve figured out my 2017 beauty goal halfway through the year: I’m planning to explore the world of stick concealers! Why cover-up sticks specifically? They are so convenient to tote around that I can see myself popping one or two sticks in my daily makeup bag for a quick round of hide-and-seek with blemishes and dark circles. I’ll start off the collection with Shiseido Perfecting Stick Concealer in 22 Natural Light (PHP 1,350).

Shiseido Perfecting Stick Concealer

Quick Specs: 5 g / 0.17 oz ; made in Japan

 

Love the luxe detail on the sleek black metallic twist-up tube that the concealer comes in. Shiseido products are posh in their simplicity, something I admire about high-end Japanese beauty brands. The diameter of the concealer stick is also perfectly sized to apply with ease directly on the under eye area.

The formula of this Shiseido stick concealer is a dry cream that settles into a powdery finish. I’ve considered purchasing a brush to go along with this, but wouldn’t that defeat the purpose of an on-the-go concealer job? Besides, I find that using my ring finger achieves application (over un-moisturized, primer-free skin) well enough, but with a bit of drag. Coverage is buildable from light to medium, though it doesn’t completely cover acne scars, discolorations, and redness despite significantly fading their appearance. For that matter, I think this is best suited to use specifically on dark circles as the coverage is significant without looking too heavy. The shade I have, Natural Light, is a yellowish apricot that suitably disappears on my NC-15 skin.

Left: 3 passes; right: 1 pass of the concealer

On the under eye area, the concealer lasts all day. However, this Shiseido concealer does tend to settle on the deeper lines and creases on my under eye area. Even after setting with powder, I have to go back from time to time and smooth the area with a finger to make the wrinkles look less obvious. On the rest of my face, the concealer fades at 3-4 hours.

Concealer on undereye, cheeks (sides of nose), and chin

Verdict: The color match is a great fit, but there is some concern over the settling of this product on deep creases. If I use a smaller amount to avoid a lot of excess concealer ending up in the nooks and crannies, the trade-off would be the level of coverage. I suppose that makes this ideal for days when I am well-rested and need less base layers to look brighter and more awake.

5 thoughts on “Shiseido Perfecting Stick Concealer

    • I read in one comparison review that CDP is creamier. If that is the case, I’d be nervous about CDP migrating into the creases more than Shiseido. 😦

  1. This concealer looks amazing. I’ve tried other sheiseido products, but never their concealer! Thanks so much for sharing! I love your content and I look forward to reading more of your posts.
    Check me out sometime?
    Mena from noirerewritten.com 🌷

  2. Interesting… Ive only used Shiseido skincare products and love them. Do you think there are cheaper, drugstore alternatives to this one? Xx

Leave a comment