Burt’s Bees Daisy White Moisturizing Cream

Delicate skin calls for desperate measures! I’m not just saying this to include myself to the list of people who cannot live without their specialty (either hypoallergenic, organic, or all-natural) beauty products. The last two years haven’t been the kindest on my face. Chalk it up to environmental stress or trying on too many products (good ol’ skin stress), but I’ve been looking for increasingly gentle products to coax my skin into submission. Had I known that Burt’s Bees Daisy White Moisturizing Cream (bought on sale at PHP 577.50; regular price PHP 1,650) would be this gentle, I would’ve gotten my hands on some ASAP during that Burt’s Bees workshop I went to.

Burt’s Bees

Quick Specs: 1.8 oz / 50 g ; made in USA; dermatologist-tested; non-comedogenic; 99% natural

Ingredients

Pros:

  • The minimalist packaging is simple, sturdy, and functional. You can’t accuse them of creating a space-age design, since you’re getting a hygienic, easy-to-use pump in a simple, white bottle with lid.
  • The claim “clinically tested on Asian women in Asia” is assuring to a certain extent. I like to take this to mean that the formula is okay for humid places.
  • In my mind, Burt’s Bees charm is partly due to their creating products that have the most addictive scents. Well, hit and miss in some places, but mostly hits? Remember how I just loved their lemon cuticle cream? Daisy White Moisturizing Cream has that sweet orange scent that I instantly fell for at first use. I actually look forward to my nightly skincare ritual for the scent.
  • In terms of texture and consistency, I’d put Daisy White at a happy medium. I’ve tried runny and I’ve tried thick, but this yellowish pearly cream offers a smooth, healthy coating without much pulling to the skin.
  • In an air conditioned environment, the formula holds up well. Skin feels light and dewy. It goes back to how well the moisturizer gets absorbed. For regular hot weather, it can feel slightly heavy. There’s the mild sensation of having a barrier over the skin. Since I use this as a night cream right before bed, it doesn’t feel as though it sits on my face.

Neutral:

  • Don’t ask me about whitening. I purchased it on impulse for the sale, not the whitening.

Cons:

  • No expiry date. According to the SA, the products have a long shelf-life. (Actually, she said they don’t expire. Pffft! Yeah, right.) The stuff I got was in excellent condition, though I’d feel more confident knowing a best-by date. Who knows how long these boxes have been sitting on those shelves?
  • The first time around, price was already a major deterrent. I would very much like to repurchase, but I’m seriously praying for another sale. The price puts it at the high-end range already. (To be honest, another foreign beauty brand with hypoallergenic products is competing for that price range in my book. It’s becoming an issue of if I should re-purchase this or try that instead.)

Trivia: The US counterpart of this line is called Burt’s Bees Brightening.

Verdict: Jury’s still out on the re-purchase. If this goes on sale, then absolutely. Scent and formula have won my favor.

14 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees Daisy White Moisturizing Cream

    • Honestly, sometimes it’s just fun to quiz the SAs. I’ve experienced a lot of them having negative attitudes but are unable to answer my questions satisfactorily.

  1. My brows raised when I read the SA said that this has long shelf-life. I highly doubt it unless it has a lot of alcohol.

  2. Interesting. I don’t pay too much attention to Burt’s Bee’s anymore because historically, their products all have been too greasy for my liking. While I really commend them on natural ingredients with a spin on honey etc, I just could not get into it. I recall the one item I really liked was their Marshmallow Vanishing Cream, which had a nice light texture and a lovely light scent! I’m going to have to revisit this line to see how they’ve reformulated their offering with better packaging (it appears to be a vacuum pump?) Although, I am quite surprised at the LOOOONG ingredient list!

Leave a comment